Hall, Michael

Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award

Michael N. Hall is honored for discoveries concerning the nutrient-activated TOR proteins and their central role in the metabolic control of cell growth.

Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

John Schiller and Douglas Lowy are honored for technological advances that enabled development of HPV vaccines for prevention of cervical cancer and other tumors caused by human papillomaviruses.

Planned Parenthood

2017 Lasker~Bloomberg Public Service Award

Planned Parenthood is honored for providing essential health services and reproductive care to millions of women for more than a century.

Art, science, and the 2017 Laskers

Artists get thrills by creating puzzles that stimulate the imagination while biomedical researchers get kicks by solving scientific mysteries, writes Joseph Goldstein, chair of the Lasker Research Awards Jury.