Kariko and Weissman

Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman

The Lasker Foundation congratulates Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman, the recipients of the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. This year’s prize recognizes their work in pioneering a novel approach to vaccine development.

The 2021 Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award honored Karikó and Weissman for the discovery of a new therapeutic technology based on the modification of messenger RNA. This breakthrough enabled rapid development of highly effective Covid-19 vaccines. In addition to providing a tool for quelling a devastating pandemic, their innovation is currently fueling progress toward treatments and preventives for a range of different illnesses.