Douglas Lowy, Acting Director of the National Cancer Institute, delivered the 2019 Lasker~APSA Lecture at the annual meeting of the AAP/ASCI/APSA on April 5. Lowy spoke about his research that led to the development of HPV vaccines. Lowy together with John T. Schiller received the 2017 Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award for technological advances that enabled development of HPV vaccines for prevention of cervical cancer and other tumors caused by human papillomaviruses.