The Foundation announces the recipients of the 2023 Lasker Awards.

Demis Hassabis, John Jumper

2023 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award

Demis Hassabis and John Jumper are honored for the invention of AlphaFold, a revolutionary technology for predicting the three-dimensional structure of proteins.

James Fujimoto, David Huang, Eric Swanson

2023 Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

James G. Fujimoto, David Huang, and Eric A. Swanson are honored for the invention of optical coherence tomography, a technology that revolutionized ophthalmology—allowing rapid detection of diseases of the retina that impair vision.

Piet Borst

2023 Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science

Piet Borst is honored for an exceptional 50-year career of scientific discovery, mentorship, and leadership.

painting of green apple

The Secret to a Successful Career in Science—According to Magritte

There is no shortage of words of advice on how to become a successful scientist.

Media Center

Get the press release, watch the videos, and view coverage of the 2023 Lasker Awards.