The Lasker Foundation welcomes the recipients of the 2021 Awards into the pantheon of 75 years of Lasker Laureates.


2021 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award

Karl Deisseroth, Peter Hegemann, and Dieter Oesterhelt are honored for discoveries concerning light-sensitive microbial proteins and the development of optogenetics.

Learn More

2021 Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman are recognized for the discovery of a new therapeutic technology based on the modification of messenger RNA.

Learn More

2021 Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award

David Baltimore is honored for the breadth and beauty of his discoveries in virology, immunology, and cancer; for his academic leadership; for his mentorship of prominent scientists; and for his public advocacy for science.

Learn More

The Surprise Element

Truly creative works of science and art produce unexpected and surprising results—just like the punch line of a good joke that generates an unfamiliar twist on a familiar idea.

Read the Essay by Joseph Goldstein

Media Center

Get the press release, watch the videos, and view coverage of the 2021 Lasker Awards.

Learn More